Tagalog Lessons: Just for kicks! ( ;

One afternoon, Rom and I spent a few minutes to unwind and joke around – it a short release from his current ball of chains called SOAP Writing for his PT program. College woes.

I’ve always thought I wasn’t teaching him enough Tagalog since we often converse in English, just to spare him from the difficulty I guess. So even if I can’t resist making fun of some anticipated glitches with his spoken Tagalog, we indulged in a few Filipino words.

1. MISMO

His translation: Sometimes

Rationale: Sounds like, anagrams.

2. BLUE

His translation: Asul

WRONG. That’s Spanish. (Rommel readily surrendered.)

3. GREEN

Translation: Berde

WRONG. That’s Spanish. It’s LUNTIAN.

Rommel: I’ve never encountered that word in my entire life.

Me: We don’t use it though. Don’t use it unless you wanna sound “deep,” like a poet. Not even berde.

Rommel: (laughs)

4. DUCK

Rommel: I swear I know that one… What’s the first letter?

Me: B.

(SILENCE)

Rommel: B… Buck?

giphy

Me: (in between hysterical laughs) Buck? Libro (book)? O yung kahon (box)? Haha! BIBE.

Rommel: Yes?

Me: No, I didn’t say baby! I meant BIBE is the Tagalog word for duck.

Rommel: So how do you spell it?

Me: B-I-B-E.

Rommel: HAHAHAHAHA!!!! Justin BIBEr??? ((:

YOU’VE JUST SABOTAGED ALL THE DUCKS ON EARTH!!! ((:

Justin BIBEr

Justin BIBEr, folks.

Leave a Reply

