US Visa Application Experience

I skipped work today because I scheduled myself (just last Monday) for an interview at the US Embassy. I got the 6:30AM slot because it’s the only thing left in the website. You can actually do everything online! Fill-out the DS-160 Form at this here, pay for the application fee (see rates), and schedule your interview here. I didn’t want to wait until November for this because I might not have the time anymore since:

1. I’ll be starting with graduate school this second semester.

2. I might be finally transferring to another division and start a new job as a Marketing Manager.

3. I am taking my mom to Cambodia and Thailand on December.

I have the most beautiful excuses to do things as soon as possible and be productive to end this year with a bang!Β The interesting part of the day was the conversation chat interview with the Consul. I expected it to be quick, but it lasted longer than I thought, easierΒ than I thought, and super FUN! Here’s how I remember it:

Consul: So how are you?

Yang: I’m doing okay.

Consul: So what will you do in the US?

Yang: I just want to go there for a tour.

Consul: Have you been to other countries? (Yep.) Where?

Yang: We went to Singapore and Malaysia last year. We also went to Hong Kong and China around 2007.

Consul: So how was it?

Yang: It was great! Especially our stay in Singapore (while holding my two thumbs up, paired with a wide smile).

Consul: Yeah? I heard good stuff about it too.

Yang: Yeah you should go there.

Consul: So where will you go in Virginia?

Yang: (Shrugs) Somewhere in Parkman. Annandale.

Consul: Oh Annandale. What will you do there?

Yang: My cousin lives there, and we like the same stuff. We have the same interests in art and music; so I trust him to bring me to interesting places and events.

Consul: Really. Like what type of music?

Yang: I like stuff from the 90s. Like Stone Temple Pilots, Nirvana…

Consul: Cool.

Yang: I really hope I can see some music festivals there. Like Lollapalooza or Pitchfork or… Coachella is too expensive for me!

Consul: Oh no. You SHOULD see Coachella. Been going there for 4 years, and I tell you, it’s the best in the south-west, or at least for me.

Yang: I DO wanna see it. Oh! We just had our FIRST Manila Music Festival this year. I saw that one and you have to check that out!

Consul: (Laughing and shaking his head) Gosh, when is this? (Scribbles in a Post-it)

Yang: It was last May this year. So I guess every May of the year. It’s just within Metro Manila. It’s like Coachella in Manila.

Consul: Thanks. Oh, if you’re going to Annandale, you really have to check this place. I tell you, they have the best, the best barbecue. It’s called Honey Pig, and really…

Yang: Can you write it down for me sir. I guess my cousin will know that place. He keeps a sort of food blog.

Consul: Here you go.

Yang: Thanks.

Consul: Okay, nice meeting you. Your visa will be sent to your mailing address soon. Thank you.

Yang: Thanks!

See? It was a breeze.Β See you next year America! (:

18ud06i9c8ykngif

3 comments

  1. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information particularly the closing part πŸ™‚ I take care of such information a lot. I used to be seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

