CRAFTING: DIY Panda Mask

Ok. Since the typhoon Falcon blew the hell out of all gig schedules, events, parties, and other reasons of going out on a weekend – LAST SUNDAY – I, my mom and my niece were stuck at home eating AND sewing. I finally learned how to figure out that machine with all the Japanese scribbles in it! WTG!

For my first project, I got hold of this unused sleeping mask from PAL.

I love it because it’s pale blue and grey! ( :

Step 1. I got some white teflon to draw my patterns on. Honestly, I really thought I’d be using that fabric itself for the panda’s eyes.

What was I thinking??! ((:

Then I realized it won’t make any sense! The giant panda eyes are actually black. ((: Silly me. I’m happy these panda scissors that I bought last week reminded me – and it’s a pretty inspiration! LOVE xxx

Yihee! Panda scissors ftw! :*

Step 2. So pinanidigan ko nalang. Just so I can make use of the teflon patterns, I used them to trace the shapes onto a maong (jeans) fabric. Then, I sew them together so the panda eyes would not look as flat, and allowed some teflon to show and make it appear like eyelids. Tralalalalala πŸ˜€

I’m a panda! Har.

Step 3. I cut out a pair of teflon and maong circles and sew them together. This was really hard considering I’m just a beginner with the machine. πŸ˜€ The stitches would always go all the way across the tiny fabrics that I cut out! Haha!

Since it’s jeans, and my thread’s white, the wobbly stitches doesn’t show much, hihi.

Step 4. Completing both eyes, I attached the circles onto the pattern that I made earlier before sewing it onto the sleeping mask. At least I was able to figure out how to position them and make them look like a panda’s so help me God. ((:

Almost there! πŸ˜€

Step 5. For the rest of the panda’s face, I just cut out a J-shape for the lips, and a heart-shape for the nose, from the maong fabric. I sew them together to see if they will actually work with the eyes and make the mask look like a panda.

Step 6. Lastly, I just sew the rest of the parts together on to the sleeping mask.

Panda panda here I come!

And there you have it folks! My first lame attempt to use our sewing machine. πŸ˜€

At least I liked it, haha! And I have someone to force to “model” it aside from moi. ((:

My bratinella-niece, Andrea Kaye. πŸ˜€

Does it even work? HAHAHAHA!!!

Oh fudge I forget, I won’t see anything. ((:

Leave a Reply

