ON THE SHELF: Stargirl (Jerry Spinelli)

I have been in love with Jerry Spinelli’s novel, Stargirl, for the longest time. Ironically, the search for a copy of this precious book seriously took me a decade!

True enough, my heart stopped when I tore the gift bag to find the perpetual blue book last holiday season. It felt like the perfect ending for 2010, like a closing a chapter of my life – the long search for a character I have not known yet, but felt strongly for.

What’s even better is I got the sequel,  Love, Stargirl, just a few days after finishing the first book. Lovely way to start 2011. (:

As my year 2011 unfolds, this post is to pay homage to the quaintly strange girl from middleschool, who has effectively taught me the value of friendship, young love, and being real. I found amazing renditions of Stargirl done by various artists online. They have unique and equally amazing styles of illustrating Stargirl from how Spinelli described her in the book. Here are some of them:

Who knows, I might come up with my own version of Stargirl and post it for you folks. (: Spinelli just won my heart, again. ❤

displaced

Leave a Reply

